Running…

It has been a long time since I wrote one of my reflections. And now I think it’s time I begun to think about some of the things that I have been facing lately. Sometimes I think that things DO happen for a reason. For example, this weekend as I was feeling under the weather, I think I’ve really had a chance to take a bit of a break from everything and consider the life that I’ve been living. And I think even the bible at some point recommends that we sit down and listen and reflect on the things that we have been living with. So this post is not really about things that I have to teach, but about experiences that I’ve had. Perhaps they will have some insights into some things that I should have learned.

Running Away…

I think the first lesson I have for myself is about running away. Someone once said that cowards live longer, and indeed they may. Running away is often an interesting thing, especially for a man. We are always so willing to find situations and face them head on. Running away is usually never the option for some of us. But running away isn’t always a sign of weakness. This is something I came to learn this weekend, from a friend that I’d say has taught me so much ever since we met.

 

 

 

P_ Coecke van Aelst Jozef en de vrouw van Potifar 3.jpg

I’ve always asked myself how Joseph could resist such wonderful temptation from one of the most beautiful women of the time, and say that he could maintain his virtue. And then I realized that the place of running is always there, even in the presence of God. Consider these verses from Genesis

Gen 39:3 and his master saw that the LORD was with him, and that the LORD made all that he did to prosper in his hand.

Gen 39:4 And Joseph found grace in his sight, and he served him: and he made him overseer over his house, and all that he had he put into his hand.

Gen 39:5 And it came to pass from the time that he had made him overseer in his house, and over all that he had, that the LORD blessed the Egyptian’s house for Joseph’s sake; and the blessing of the LORD was upon all that he had in the house, and in the field.

Gen 39:6 and he left all that he had in Joseph’s hand; and he knew not ought he had, save the bread which he did eat. And Joseph was a goodly person, and well favored.

Gen 39:7 and it came to pass after these things, that his master’s wife cast her eyes upon Joseph; and she said, lie with me.

Gen 39:8 But he refused, and said unto his master’s wife, Behold, my master [doesn’t worry] not what is with me in the house, and he hath committed all that he hath to my hand;

Gen 39:9 there is none greater in this house than I; neither hath he kept back anything from me but thee, because thou art his wife: how then can I do this great wickedness, and sin against God?

Gen 39:10 and it came to pass, as she spoke to Joseph day by day, that he hearkened not unto her, to lie by her, or to be with her.

Gen 39:11 and it came to pass about this time, that Joseph went into the house to do his business; and there was none of the men of the house there within.

Gen 39:12 and she caught him by his garment, saying, lie with me: and he left his garment in her hand, and fled, and got him out.

When we consider this part of scripture, we see that God had indeed been with Joseph, and now the women of the land were on his case, most especially this beautiful woman who was also another man’s wife. But when things became too hot, the man did what every other long-living cowards has ever done – he got out and bolted. Sometimes as men, we really don’t know when to run away, and when to stick around. But especially in this times and as Christian men trying to go in the right way, it becomes really important to know the difference. Remember that the word tells us that we are like sheep in the midst of wolves, and in a situation like that, you got to know when to run… and when to run even faster!

So as I was with my friend, I begun to understand the need to run in some cases. I’ve come to understand that when the thing is the correct thing and you can feel it in your heart, then it’s ok to stick around and apply some principle to it. But when the thing is wrong, one can never really get over the temptation and so you’d need to run. For example, see when joseph asks the woman “why would I do this thing and sin against my God”, it is simply to say that when the thing is wrong, the fine line becomes more blurred and the sweetness increases. But at that point, that’s when your heels should get real ready to run. And that’s one of the things as men we should understand.

cbba9f2751ed66090b8af04b99eb72ad.jpg

My pastor always taught us something (during the men’s meeting) that I found very amusing, yet very true. You know Proverbs is quite an interesting book when considered in the perspective of a man. Let’s look at something right here:

Pro 5:3 For the lips of a strange woman drop as an honeycomb, and her mouth is smoother than oil:

Pro 5:4 But her end is bitter as wormwood, sharp as a two-edged sword.

Pro 5:5 Her feet go down to death; her steps take hold on hell.

Pro 5:6 Lest thou should ponder the path of life, her ways are moveable, that thou canst not know them.

Pro 5:7 Hear me now therefore, O ye children, and depart not from the words of my mouth.

Pro 5:8 Remove thy way far from her, and come not nigh the door of her house:

Pro 5:9 Lest thou give thine honour unto others, and thy years unto the cruel:

Pro 5:10 Lest strangers be filled with thy wealth; and thy labours be in the house of a stranger;

Pro 5:11 And thou mourn at the last, when thy flesh and thy body are consumed,

Pro 5:12 And say, How have I hated instruction, and my heart despised reproof;

Pro 5:13 And have not obeyed the voice of my teachers, nor inclined mine ear to them that instructed me!

One thing that we know is that God is this all-knowing entity. And when we’re aware of that, then we’re better able to believe God when he says that the lips of such a woman WILL drip honey. Oh, believe me atakuingiza box! Yes, she’ll have all the words you want to hear, when you want to hear them. But the same God gives us some advice that we need to RUN. Even from the door of her house, let alone her living room. So yes, there is a place for running in the kingdom of God. As men, we’re always about getting the glory of a conquered battle. But like I’ve come to learn, the devil is not one who plays fair. He’ll bring you to a battle that is rigged. You’ll be fighting at a disadvantage from the beginning of the war. The likelihood of you winning that war is close to zilch, considering that this guy has had some bit of experience (about 5000 recorded years of it, to be more exact).

You know, Peter wrote something to us young men, that we really should consider. Because there are some battles that are better not fought. There is a place for running away. He says:

1Pe_1:13 Wherefore gird up the loins of your mind, be sober, and hope to the end for the grace that is to be brought unto you at the revelation of Jesus Christ;

Yes, it says be ready to persevere. Because girding up your loins means things are going to get tough. But still everything is going to be okay. It’s probably not going to do your ego any good when you’re running away from everyone and everything. But we’re all just waiting for that grace that was brought by the revelation of Jesus. Because in this journey with Jesus, sometimes we got to run away. Not because we’re weak, but because looking to glorify oneself is not really glory. If honey went about saying how sweet it was, then it probably won’t be as popular as it is for its sweetness. Similarly, it’s not always about how good you can resist temptation, or fast, or pray, or do something else, because actions often speak louder than words – and that the truth of it.

Leave a comment